Sports

Tennis takes its cue from the World Cup when VAR is involved in the men’s doubles final

Tennis took a leaf out of the World Cup book when VAR was called during the second set of the men’s doubles final at the ATP Finals moments after it was used to disallow Ecuador’s goal in the opening match of the World Cup against Qatar. World No. 2s Joe Salisbury and Rajeev Ram were leading by a set and a break when they believed opponent Nikola Mektic hit the ball twice during an exchange, prompting the referee to use the video review system to overrule. the decision and give the second. sow the point

Britain’s Joe Salisbury is contesting the final doubles match of the 2022 ATP Tour season with long-time partner Rajeev Ram as the British-American duo take on Croatians Nikola Mektic and Mate Pavic in the final of the ATP Finals. The second seeds were leading by a set and a break when they asked the referee to use video review after disagreeing with a decision.

During an exchange at 7-6(4) 2-0, Mektic appeared to twice hit a ball which he successfully returned before Salisbury tossed his return into the net. And all four men immediately looked to chair umpire Renaud Lichtenstein for clarification, with the world No. 2 pair adamant their opponent had hit the ball twice.

The French referee used the video review system for the first time at this week’s season finale tournament, having been requested earlier in the week due to a network issue, but refused with the technology not being used. for those calls. Lichtenstein had believed that the 33-year-old’s double whammy occurred in a single movement, making it valid.

JUST IN: Tsitsipas said family needs ‘therapy’ after hitting ball with parents

But the Croatian duo could not recover and it was Ram and Salisbury who wrapped up a 7-6(4) 6-4 victory for their first ATP Finals title. The pair also pick up the biggest winner’s check in men’s doubles history after going unbeaten in their group stage matches, pocketing £782,521 ($930,300).

The pair had reached the final last year, but missed out on the trophy by losing to Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut. But they redeemed themselves this year, with Salisbury also becoming the first Briton to lift the men’s doubles title in the year-end finals.



#Tennis #takes #cue #World #Cup #VAR #involved #mens #doubles #final

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button