Martin Brundle disagrees with opinion on Max Verstappen sanction

Martin Brundle disagreed with Simon Lazenby for suggesting that Max Verstappen and Red Bull only won the world championship after breaking budget cap rules. The former McLaren driver suggested that spending more money was not a “knockout blow” that guaranteed the Dutchman two crowns.

Red Bull was found guilty of breaking the cap for £1.8 million ($2.2 million). But, the FIA ​​confirmed that the team was only over £432,000 ($0.5 million) without tax issues. Many fans on social media criticized the FIA ​​for applying a light penalty and said the extra money was a big factor in Verstappen’s two world titles.

Lazenby said: “They have two championships from this. They have overspent and been caught and charged. And Max Verstappen is the beneficiary of two world championships.” Brundle quickly replied, “You can’t say that, how can you say that?”

Lazenby added: “I’m not saying that, but that’s what the fans are saying.” But Brundle replied: “Some money will have been spent. But can he apply that kind of money to win two world championships?

READ MORE: Red Bull boss Christian Horner admits his concerns over ‘draconian’ sanction

Horner has passionately defended the team since rumors of overspending at the Singapore Grand Prix surfaced.

Speaking at a Red Bull press conference, Horner explained: “There was no benefit, because the amount we got over, there were mitigating factors. Not a penny was spent on the performance of the car. I am amazed that no other team was in this position.

“Good for them that eight of them fully comply. There are lessons to learn. Did we see any performance on the track? No, we didn’t.”

#Martin #Brundle #disagrees #opinion #Max #Verstappen #sanction

Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button